Biochemistry

pedromichael's picture

Come and learn about how our bodies work on the chemical level. Why do we get diabetes? Why is alcohol hard on your liver? Why is getting burned bad for my skin? I am a medical student, and am trying to bring science to populations of people who would like to learn, but may not do it otherwise. I will go in depth on a number of topics and I will get 'science-y.' For that some amount of basic chemistry or biology experience in your past would be helpful. This will be what you want to get out of it. If you want to know the names and memorize all the pathways, great. If you don't feel like memorizing it (who would?) don't feel like you need to. THERE ARE NO EXAMS, THIS IS FOR FUN AND YOUR INFORMATION! All I hope for, is to get people interested in science and how their own bodies work. If you are an undergraduate student and want to take this as a stress free walk through before you take the real thing, great. If you are a medical student and want to use this as a way to review for the boards, (that is what I am doing), also great. And if you just want to know about your body but never had the time, money or chance to learn about biochemistry, I'll help make sure you are following along. Regardless of why you want to come, I promise to make this a fun environment. This will take place twice a week for one hour.
Ben Brasseur

Facilitator email(s): 
[email protected]
pedromichael's picture

What time works to do this

Monday-Wednesday 7:30
88% (7 votes)
Tuesday - Thursday 7:30
13% (1 vote)
Total votes: 8
Facilitator's experience: 
I am a Medical Student at the University of Minnesota Medical School in the process of earning my MD. I received a BS in biology and a BA in history from the College of Biological Sciences and College of Liberal Arts both at the university of Minnesota. I am interested in important things, like the Twins, Vikings and the Wild. But I also enjoy working on my golf swing and conversations about contingency plans for post-apocalyptic scenarios. I taught before, at the University Minnesota, and I have learned that it is very important to have energy, interaction, and fun while in class. I have taken more biology and chemistry courses than any sane person would care to, including biochemistry at the University of Minnesota's College of Biological Sciences and again at the Medical School. My work experience is diverse, I worked in industry and academia in microbiology, construction, teaching, and assisting people with disabilities.
Class minimum size: 
3
Class maximum size: 
30
Time/Location
Class times: 
Wed, 06/29/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 08/24/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 07/06/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 08/31/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 07/13/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 09/07/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 07/20/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 09/14/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 07/27/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 09/21/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 08/03/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 09/28/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 08/10/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 10/05/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 08/17/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 10/12/2011 - 19:30
Wed, 08/24/2011 - 19:30 - Wed, 10/19/2011 - 19:30
Additional class time information: 
Every Wednesday and Monday from 6/29 - 8-24 from 7:30 pm-8:30pm, but if people show great interest in a seperate set of times I am open to change.
Location Accessibility: 
Location not set.
Syndicate content