Batucada do Norte - Brazilian Drumming Ensemble

pokeefe's picture

Batucada do Norte is a community group dedicated to studying and performing the many street drumming styles found in Brazil during Carnival. Founded by brothers Tim and Pat O’Keefe in 2006, the group has performed at many events throughout the Twin Cities, including the annual May Day Parade, the Minneapolis Mosaic Festival, and the Minnesota History Museum’s Nine Nights of Music. Our weekly gatherings will include both instruction in the basics of Brazilian rhythms for beginners, and rehearsals of the group’s repertoire. No prior musical experience is necessary to join, just open minds and open ears. Some musical instruments will be provided.

Facilitator email(s): 
[email protected]

Location

Hill Ballroom, Kagin Commons, Macalester College
Northwest corner of Snelling and Grand
Saint Paul, MN
United States
Facilitator's experience: 
I am a professional musician with over 20 years of performing and teaching experience, and I have been studying, performing, and teaching Brazilian music since 1996. I received my doctorate in music from the University of California, San Diego.
Facilitator phone number(s): 
651-324-4373
Class minimum size: 
none
Class maximum size: 
none
Time/Location
Class times: 
Wed, 01/27/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 02/03/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 02/10/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 02/17/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 02/24/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 03/03/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 03/10/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 03/17/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 03/24/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 03/31/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 04/07/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 04/14/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 04/21/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Wed, 04/28/2010 - 18:30 - 20:30
Additional class time information: 
This class is ongoing year-round.
Address: 
Hill Ballroom, Kagin Commons, Macalester College
Northwest corner of Snelling and Grand
Saint Paul, MN
United States
44° 56' 24.2412" N, 93° 10' 1.2108" W
Additional class location information: 
location may vary on occasion
Syndicate content