Mahadrin Klezmer Ensemble

Raysh's picture

This band offers a creative outlet for the study, performance, and ultimately, preservation, of klezmer music in a relaxed and non-judgmental, but serious, environment.  While some degree of basic musicianship is requested (ability to play by ear and/or sight-read, basic competence on at least one instrument), the group is open to musicians with different levels of musicianship and backgrounds.

Don’t know what klezmer is? Come find out firsthand and learn to play one of the world’s greatest and most quickly evolving musical folk genres.  

 

This is an ongoing course and all of the information provided before is still applicable. The only change for this semester is rehearsal start time. Our rehearsal location may also change. We are hoping to switch to a room in Ferguson Hall at the UofM

Facilitator email(s): 
[email protected]

Location

(TBA) the default location is the hillel house, but we are
aiming for Ferguson Hall
Minneapolis, MN 55455
United States
Facilitator's experience: 
Raysh studied with the Maxwell St. Klezmer Band in the 90's and has since attended and performed at least a half dozen klezmer festivals, established and directed Northwestern University's Klezmer band (which continues, seven years after its founding), conducted Klezmer fieldwork in Germany, and continues to research and write on the international Klezmer phenomenon. David is currently a Doctoral student in clarinet performance at the University of Minnesota. He has performed extensively throughout the country and was the founder of the Atzmus Klezmer Ensemble in Cincinnati.
Facilitator phone number(s): 
312.613.7707
Class minimum size: 
4
Class maximum size: 
30
Time/Location
Class times: 
Wed, 01/20/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 01/27/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 02/03/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 02/10/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 02/17/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 02/24/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 03/03/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 03/10/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 03/17/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 03/24/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 03/31/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 04/07/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 04/14/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 04/21/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 04/28/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 05/05/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 05/12/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 05/19/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Wed, 05/26/2010 - 17:30 - 18:30
Additional class time information: 
The group meets on a weekly basis with the exception of holidays and academic vacations. Performances occur regularly.
Address: 
(TBA) the default location is the hillel house, but we are
aiming for Ferguson Hall
Minneapolis, MN 55455
United States
44° 58' 31.2744" N, 93° 13' 59.0664" W
Syndicate content